CAF Convenors

Jacqueline Millner

Jacqueline MillnerJacqueline has published widely on contemporary Australian and international art in key anthologies, journals and catalogues of national and international institutions. Her books include Conceptual Beauty: Perspectives on Australian Contemporary Art (2010, Artspace, Sydney) and (with Jennifer Barrett), Australian Artists in the Contemporary Museum (2014, Ashgate, London). Millner’s research is informed by feminist and social history of art perspectives which strive to place art in a broader context. She is Associate Dean Research at Sydney College of the Arts (SCA), University of Sydney, where she lectures on contemporary art history and theory and is co-convenor of the research cluster Contemporary Art and Feminism.

Catriona Moore

Catriona MooreCatriona’s career as a critic, theorist and art historian historian is dedicated to women modernist artists and contemporary feminist, environmental and comparative post-colonial visual art and culture (especially former British Dominions and new Republics). She has published widely on feminist aesthetics and women in art. Her feminist art histories include Indecent Exposures: Twenty years of Australian Feminist Photography (Allen & Unwin) and 
Dissonance: Feminism and the Arts 1970 -90 
(ed, Allen & Unwin with Artspace
, Sydney). She was a member of the Artworkers Union Affirmative Action for Women in the Visual Arts committee in the mid-1980s. She is senior lecturer in Art History and Film Studies at the University of Sydney and is co-convenor of the research cluster Contemporary Art and Feminism.

Jo Holder

joholderIs the director of The Cross Art Projects in Sydney and co-convenor of the independent research cluster Contemporary Art and Feminism. Her curatorial projects often engage with equity and justice issues such as Elastics: Darwin<>Sydney<>Dili (2014, Chan Contemporary Art Space, Darwin) and Green Bans Art Walk (2011, Performance Space Walks series, Sydney). She was director of SH Ervin Gallery, National Trust, Sydney (1997–1999) and co-director, Mori Gallery, Sydney (1984–92). She was co-editor with Joan Kerr of Past Present An Anthology on the National Women’s Art Project (1997) and Joan Kerr, A Singular Voice: Essays on Australian Architecture (ed., Candice Bruce, Dinah Dysart and Jo Holder, 2009). For the twentieth anniversary of International Women’s Year, she co-ordinated the National Women’s Art Exhibition comprising simultaneous exhibitions in over 150 galleries, museums and libraries (1995).

Jasmin Stephens, CAF Commons

JStephensPortraitJasmin Stephens curates and presents CAF Commons – an independent series of talks on curating Feminist politics. Her recent exhibitions included Yonder, at Perth Institute of Contemporary Arts, and Metallic at Spectrum Project Space, Edith Cowan University, WA. She has pursued her interest in current exhibition trends, audience development and curatorship in many institutions including Fremantle Arts Centre, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Artbank and the Art Gallery of New South Wales. She undertook a curatorial residency with The Reading Room in Bangkok (2013) and was Visiting Curator and Asialink Arts Management Resident with Singapore Biennale (2011).

CAF Communications

Jane Polkinghorne

Jane is a Sydney based artist and teacher with a practice of over twenty years across a range of mediums, including film/video, photography and sculpture. Her practice is a critical and humorous examination of pathos and horror surrounding representations of the gendered body. She is currently a PhD candidate at Sydney College of the Arts, investigating humour and disgust in relation to contemporary art.​

Cecilia Jackson is about to graduate from a Master of Art Curating at the University of Sydney and is a graduate of the National Art School.

Future Feminist Archive Project Manager

Catherine HicksonCatherine Hickson

Catherine is an artist and educator. A recent graduate of Master of Museum Studies at University of Sydney Catherine is Project Manager of Future Feminist Archive. She brings to the project a strong interest in curating regionalism and education programming.

CAF Steering Committee

The CAF Steering Committee meets quarterly by Callout.

Those who have attended or contributed submissions to date:
Tess Allas, Robyn Backen, Loma Bridge, Laura Castigliani, Tania Creighton, John Cruthers, Debra Dawes, Elizabeth Day, Bec Dean, Chris Dean, Kelly Doley, Jackie Dunn, Jane Dyer, Nicolle Ellis, Bonita Ely, Julie Ewington, Cherine Fahd, Sofia Freeman, Gillian Fuller, Anna Gibbs, Sylvia Griffith, Jan Guy, Bianca Hester, Jo Holder, Bronia Iwanczak, Craig Judd, Deborah Kelly, Fiona MacDonald, Margaret Mayhew, Joanna Mendelssohn, Clare Milledge, Jacqueline Millner, Karen Mills, Catriona Moore, Brigid Noone, Maurice O’Riordan, Courtney Pedersen, Juliette Peers, Caroline Philips, Jane Polkinghorne, Paula do Prado, Elvis Richardson, Jacqueline Rose, Julie Rrap, Mary Scott, Natalie Seiz, Di Smith, Jasmine Stephens, Ingrid van der Aa, Deborah Vaighan, Toni Warburton, Gemma Weston, Linda Wilken, Kate Williams

If you wish to join CAF contact the convenors via email

Bonita Ely, Liz Day and Kelly DoleyCAF Steering Committee Hard at Work  January 2014Liz Day, Kelly Doley, Di Smith and Jo HolderCAF Steering Committee Hard at Work  January 2014
Jane Polkinghorne and Jacqueline Millner

Jasmine Stephens and Catriona Moore

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s